Scholarships, Student Loans, and Grants
Eligible students who have accepted scholarships, student loans and grant awards will have those funds applied automatically to their student billing account. You can monitor your financial aid eligibility and billing account through MyOregonState.
If financial aid amounts exceed the amount of qualifying tuition/fees expenses owed, a refund will be generated if the surplus exceeds $1.00. Distribution of the refund can be made by direct deposit or check. Please note that federal financial aid cannot be posted toward the balance of the matriculation fee, accrued interest, printing charges, parking or library fines or student health service charges.
- If you would like direct deposit of your financial aid refund, complete the Direct Deposit form found through Online Services or Student Finance website.
- If you would like your refund as a check, your current mailing address must be up to date for all check processing. You can do this through MyOregonState.
For full details, visit the Business Affairs Office Website. Click on Current Student.
Beginning the third week of the term, students eligible for refunds due to financial aid or scholarship disbursements may request a refund at the Cashier's Office or through email at email@example.com.
Emergency loans, not to exceed $350.00 per term, are available to students in good financial standing, attending at least half time, and formally admitted to the university. Loans are to be repaid by the last day of the current term. Loan amounts become part of the revolving account balance and carry interest at 1 percent per month (12 percent APR). The Cashier’s Office reviews the applications and issues payment if approved. Application forms are available at the Cashier’s Office in the Kerr Administration Building. Be sure to have your OSU ID and a second photo ID to present with the application.
Ecampus students can email firstname.lastname@example.org to request the application. They will be asked to scan the completed form and email it back to the Cashier’s Office with accompanying identification.
Payment of Student Fees
Payment of Nonresident Instruction Fee (580-10-080)
- All students classified as nonresidents shall pay a nonresident fee.
- Refunds of the nonresident fee may be granted if the student shows that the classification previously assigned was in error. However, no such refund shall be made unless the student applies and submits all supporting information for residency status prior to the last day to register for the term in which the student seeks the change of status.
Enrollment of Spouse and Dependent Children (580-010-086)
The spouse and dependent children of regular department staff members with a full-time equivalent of at least .50 may enroll as students at resident fee rates in department institutions.
In-State Tuition for Veterans
The following individuals shall be charged the in-state rate, or otherwise considered a resident, for tuition and fees purposes:
- A Veteran using educational assistance under either chapter 30 (Montgomery G.I. Bill - Active Duty Program) or chapter 33 (Post-9/11 G.I. Bill), of title 38, United States Code, who lives in the State of Oregon while attending a school located in the State of Oregon (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- Anyone using transferred Post-911 G.I. Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in the State of Oregon while attending a school located in the State of Oregon (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the transferor's discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- Anyone using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (38 U.S.C. § 3311(b)(9)) who lives in the State of Oregon while attending a school located in the State of Oregon (regardless of his/her formal State of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the Service member's death in the line of duty following a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- Anyone described above while he or she remains continuously enrolled (other than during regularly scheduled breaks between courses, semesters, or terms) at the same school. The person so described must have enrolled in the school prior to the expiration of the three-year period following discharge, release, or death described above and must be using educational benefits under either chapter 30 or chapter 33, of title 38, United States Code.