Find SomeoneCampus MapsOSU Site Map

General Catalog & Schedule of Classes

Oregon State University
OSU HomeProspective StudentsCurrent StudentsFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsVisitors
What is Quick-Jump?
Catalog HomeCatlog IndexCatalog SearchCatalog ArchiveCatalog Help

 Administration and Organization

Print Version Print

Oregon State University Administration

Edward J. Ray, President

Edward Feser, Provost and Executive Vice President

Mike Green, Vice President for Finance and Administration

Cynthia Sagers, Vice President for Research

Steven Clark, Vice President for University Relations and Marketing

Rebecca Johnson, Vice President for the OSU-Cascades Campus

Susan Capalbo, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Lois Brooks, Vice Provost for Information Services

Mark Hoffman, Vice Provost for International Programs [Until September 15, 2017]

Susie Brubaker-Cole, Vice Provost for Student Affairs [Until September 6, 2017]

Dan Larson, Interim Vice Provost for Student Affairs [Beginning September 6, 2017]

Scott Reed, Vice Provost for University Outreach and Engagement

Susana Rivera-Mills, Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies

Jennifer Brown, Vice Provost and Dean for the Graduate School

For more information, see

 Back to Top

OSU Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Oregon State University governs Oregon’s only university with a statewide presence and helps guide OSU’s mission to serve the state and the needs of its citizens in a growing global economy.

The board harnesses the talent and energy of education, civic and business leaders to help guide OSU’s future as a leader and innovator in excellence in teaching, discovery and service as an internationally recognized public research university. The first 14 members of the board were confirmed by the Oregon Senate in November 2013. OSU President Ed Ray is also a trustee (ex officio and non-voting), for a total of 15 members.

The following list contains the members of the Oregon State University Board of Trustees, as of January 1, 2017:

  • Mike Bailey, professor of computer science, OSU Corvallis
  • Mark Baldwin, analyst programmer, OSU, Corvallis
  • Patricia Bedient, executive vice president/chief financial officer (retired), Sammamish, WA
  • Rani Borkar, vice president, OpenPOWER Development, IBM, Beaverton
  • Julia Brim-Edwards, senior director, government and public affairs, Nike, Beaverton
  • Darald Callahan, president (retired), Chevron Chemical Co., San Rafael, CA
  • Michele Longo Eder, attorney (retired), Newport
  • Paul Kelly, Jr., attorney (retired), Portland
  • Brett Morgan, OSU student
  • Laura Naumes, vice president, Naumes Inc., Medford
  • Preston Pulliams, president, Gold Hill Associates, Jackson, MS
  • Edward Ray, president, Oregon State University, Ex Officio
  • Patricia Reser, chairman of the board, Reser’s Fine Foods, Inc., Beaverton
  • Kirk Schueler, chief executive officer and president, Brooks Resources Corporation, Bend
  • Michael Thorne, wheat farmer, Pendleton

For further information, go to

 Back to Top

Organization of the University

The president is the chief executive officer of the university and is appointed by the Oregon State Board of Trustees. Subject to the Board, the president is responsible for the overall leadership and direction of the university. The provost and executive vice president is the chief academic and operating officer and is responsible for the daily operations of the university.

In November 2009, four new divisions were created as part of OSU's Strategic Alignment and Budget Reduction Implementation Plan: the Division of Arts and Sciences, Division of Business and Engineering, Division of Earth Systems Science, and the Division of Health Sciences.

The academic programs of Oregon State University are divided among 11 colleges, the Graduate School, and the University Honors College, each with a dean responsible for all faculty, staff, students, and academic programs.

The 11 colleges are the College of Agricultural Sciences; College of Business; College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences; College of Education; College of Engineering; College of Forestry; College of Public Health and Human Sciences; College of Liberal Arts; College of Pharmacy; College of Science; and the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Colleges are divided into departments or schools administered by a department head, chair, or director. Each department may offer several programs of study leading to degrees, certificates, options, or minors requiring a specific group of courses for completion.

Some courses and programs described in the OSU General Catalog are offered throughout the year online and at a distance by OSU Ecampus. A list of online and distance education courses and programs are available on the Web at

OSU Extended Campus also is home to OSU Summer Session, which serves more than 10,000 students annually on the Corvallis campus, online and at the OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center on the Oregon coast. Summer session courses are published annually in the OSU Summer Session Planning Guide and listed in the online schedule of classes. The OSU Summer Session website is

This OSU General Catalog lists requirements for each program, as well as all regular courses offered by Oregon State University. A number of special temporary or 'X' courses are also offered each year and are listed in the online Schedule of Classes.

The Graduate School section of this catalog offers a summary of graduate programs and general regulations.

Programs and courses offered by OSU-Cascades on the Central Oregon Community College campus in Bend, Oregon, are available on the Web at

 Back to Top

Equal Opportunity

Oregon State University, in compliance with state and federal laws and regulations, does not discriminate on the basis of age, color, disability, gender identity or expression, genetic information, marital status, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in any of its policies, procedures, or practices. This nondiscrimination policy covers admission and access to, and treatment and employment in, university programs and activities, including but not limited to academic admissions, financial aid, educational services, and employment. Inquiries regarding the university's equal opportunity policies may be directed to the Equal Opportunity and Access, 541-737-3556 or visit


 Back to Top


Catalog HomeCatlog IndexCatalog SearchCatalog ArchiveCatalog Help
OSU HomeProspective StudentsCurrent StudentsFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsVisitors
Find SomeoneCampus MapsOSU Site Map